PezCycling News - What's Cool In Road Cycling : Vuelta’17 St12: Magnificent Marczynski – Froome Falls!

Race News
Vuelta’17 St12: Magnificent Marczynski – Froome Falls!
Stage Report: Yet another day of surprises in Spain as Tomasz Marczynski took his second Vuelta'17 stage win, Alberto Contador attacks for some extra time and overall leader, Chris Froome crashed, not just once, but twice. Second placed overall, Vincenzo Nibali, is now only at 59 seconds and the excitement goes on!

Vuelta'17 stage win No.2 for Tomasz

The break of the day had an 8 minute lead on a Sky powered peloton as the race started to climb the final ascent of the day, the Cat 2 Puerto del Torcal. Lotto Soudal's stage 6 winner, Tomasz Marczynski made his bid for a second victory and soloed to the finish to cross the line 52 seconds ahead of his ex escape companions. Behind things looked to be an easy day for the GC men, but Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) and fate had different ideas. The Spaniard attacked alongside Nico Roche (BMC) on the Torcal, dropped Roche and pushed on to pull 42 seconds back on he red jersey. Meanwhile; Chris Froome (Sky) crashed on a bend and needed a bike change, then as he worked his way through the cars, it happens again. Two of his teammates waited and an Almighty chase ensued. In the end the other GC men recouped 20 seconds on the Sky man, putting second placed Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) at just less than a minute.

Thursday's stage 12 from Motril on the South Spanish coast brought the sun back to the Vuelta a España after two wet days. The course followed the beaches of the Costa del Sol to Malaga before turning in-land after 80 kilometers and two climbs before the finish in Antequera, Los Dólmenes. the first climb of the Cat 1 Puerto del León summited out after 101 kilometers and the Cat 2 Puerto del Torcal toped 17 kilometers before the finish line. From there on it was a fast, but tricky finish.

Not a good start to the day as news of the Aqua Blue Sport team bus had been gutted by fire during the night. A mattress had been set on fire under the rear and the interior of the bus was ruined. The police have arrested someone in connection to the crime.

An easy day at the beach - Not!

After many escape efforts, the break of the day formed after 40 kilometers and was made up of: Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo), Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar), Pawel Poljanski and Andreas Schillinger (Bora-Hansgrohe), Julien Duval (AG2R-La Mondiale), Brendan Canty (Cannondale-Drapac), Michael Mørkøv (Katusha-Alpecin), Stef Clement (LottoNL-Jumbo), Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates), Tomasz Marczynski (Lotto Soudal), Omar Fraile (Dimension Data), Anthony Pérez (Cofidis), David Arroyo (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Peter Koning (Aqua Blue Sport). The Sky team took to the front of the peloton and the lead went up to over 8 minutes and the day looked to be a calm one for everyone.

Stick to the coast, it's easier

The Cat 1 climb of the Puerto del León was long, but without any steep sections it didn't bother anyone. JJ Rojas took the KOM. Katusha-Alpecin's Dane, Michael Mørkøv decided to make a move on the descent and was nearly joined by Peter Koning before both were pulled back with just over 30 kilometers.

The climbing started after 80K

When the break hit the Torcal, Canty and Fraile tried their luck, but Marczynski was on their case until he made his own move with 20 kilometers remaining. From then on the Pole didn't look to have any problems to take his second stage win with over 50 seconds on Fraile and Rojas.

Solo victory for 'local rider' Marczynski

Behind the escape; Contador attacked with Nicolas Roche on his wheel, but the BMC man couldn't hold on for too long before sitting up and returning to the chasers. The Sky team upped the tempo to hold Contador at a reasonable distance. Contador caught his teammate Edward Theuns from the break and the two forged on as long as Theuns could help with the work.

A bold move by Alberto Contador

There was no panic from the GC group until Froome lost it on a bend and needed a new bike. The chasers lifted the pace with Astana and Bahrain-Merida riders pulling at the front. As the red jersey worked its way back through the cars towards the group, he slipped again and this time two of his teammates came back to help. Contador rode in to take back 42 seconds on Froome and the GC group of race favorites took 20 seconds from the race leader.

A small up-set, but just shows that anything could happen in the nine stages before Madrid.

Battered but not finished

Stage winner, Tomasz Marczynski lives in Granada, quite near the finish, said after the finish, in perfect Spanish (with a slight Andaluz accent): "It was an incredible stage. I said today can be again my day. I kept calm until the last climb and there I wanted to see how the others were doing, and when I saw I had good legs I tried to go alone. It’s incredible, it’s been my dream since I was a kid to win a Grand Tour stage solo, and today the dream came true."

Ultimo kilómetro / Last kilometer - Étape 12... por la_vuelta

Vuelta a España Stage 12 Result:
1. Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) Lotto Soudal in 3:56:45
2. Omar Fraile Matarranza (Spa) Dimension Data at 0:52
3. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar
4. Pawel Poljanski (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
5. Stef Clement (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
6. Brendan Canty (Aus) Cannondale-Drapac at 1:42
7. Anthony Perez (Fra) Cofidis at 2:50
8. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates
9. Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
10. David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 3:00
11. Peter Koning (Ned) Aqua Blue Sport at 5:03
12. Julien Duval (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 6:49
13. Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo at 7:25
14. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 7:47
15. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana
16. David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors
17. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
18. Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica-Scott
19. Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC
20. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
21. Michael Mørkøv (Den) Katusha-Alpecin
22. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb
23. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana
24. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates
25. Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 12:
1. Christopher Froome (GB) Sky in 49:22:53
2. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 0:59
3. Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-Scott at 2:13
4. David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors at 2:16
5. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb at 2:17
6. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 2:18
7. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana at 2:37
8. Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac at 2:41
9. Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo at 3:13
10. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 3:51
11. Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC at 4:25
12. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC
13. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 4:41
14. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 4:54
15. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 5:50
16. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates at 6:19
17. Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Sky at 7:54
18. Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 10:04
19. Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Dimension Data at 12:31
20. Darwin Atapuma (Col) UAE Team Emirates at 18:46
21. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar at 20:20
22. Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Movistar at 22:38
23. Adam Yates (GB) Orica-Scot at 24:42
24. Jaime Roson Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 26:44
25. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 26:49.


Related Stories