PezCycling News - What's Cool In Road Cycling : TOUR’18 Stage 2: Sagan Shoots To Yellow!

Race News
TOUR’18 Stage 2: Sagan Shoots To Yellow!
Stage Report: At the end of a crash filled stage 2, World champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) was the fastest from the small group of what was left of the peloton that hit the tarmac just over a kilometer out. The yellow jersey of Quick-Step Floors' Fernando Gaviria was amongst the fallers and so Sagan moved into the overall lead.

80 years after the last visit of the Tour de France to La Roche-sur-Yonand and the victory of World champion, Eloi Meulenberg, current world champion Peter Sagan sprinted to victor, plus yellow and green jerseys. From the survivors of the late crash; Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) led out the sprint, but Sagan and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) passed him before making a lunge for the finish line. André Greipel (Lotto Soudal) was fourth just ahead of European champion, Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) in fifth place.

Stage 2 from Mouilleron Saint-Germain to La Roche-sur-Yon was another stage for the sprinters. 182.5 kilometers in-land from the French coast of the Vendée region. One Cat 4 climb, the Côte de Pouzauges after 28 kilometers, only 1 kilometer long with a slope of 3.9%, so was no danger. The run-in to the finish had a sharp bend at around 2K out and that was where the race came apart.

Education-First-Drapac's Lawson Craddock managed to take the start with his facial injuries and a fractured scapula. Tsgabu Grmay (Trek-Segafredo) had abandon with severe abdominal pain after 90 kilometers and was joined by Luis León Sánchez (Astana), who crashed 40 kilometers from the finish.

Not everyone in France is against Chris Frooome!

Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) managed to go clear after 3km, along with Dion Smith (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) and Michael Gogl (Trek-Segafredo). Smith won the sprint for the KOM on the Côte de Pouzauges.

After the sprint, Gogl called for medical assistance due to a pain in his right leg and went back to the bunch. Smith also considered his mission accomplished and waited for the peloton. After 35 kilometers, Chavanel was solo with a lead of 2:50.

Chavanel was reeled in after 170km of riding at the front and took the prize for the 'Most Combative Rider' and so the race was all together with 13km to go.

The late crash took away most rider's chance, Heinrich Haussler (Bahrain-Merida) was the worst affected.

Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin) punctured with 8km to go and was out of contention. Fernando Gaviria (Quick Step Floors) was in the crash at 1.8km out. Arnaud Démare, who had a puncture with 20km to go launched the sprint from too far, along with John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo), but Peter Sagan timed it well to fend off Sonny Colbrelli and power to victory.

Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) - Still second overall and 'Best Young Rider'

Tour de France Stage 2 Result:
1. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe in 4:06:37
2. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
3. Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
4. André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
5. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
6. Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
7. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar
8. Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
9. John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo
10. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors at 0:08
11. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors
12. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
13. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
14. Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors
15. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC
16. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb
17. Pierre Latour (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
18. Richie Porte (Aus) BMC
19. Pierre Rolland (Fra) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
20. Koen de Kort (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
21. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Sky
22. Adam Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott
23. Geraint Thomas (GB) Sky
24. Guillaume Martin (Fra) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
25. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana.

Tour de France Overall After Stage 2:
1. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe in 8:29:53
2. Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors at 0:06
3. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 0:10
4. Marcel Kittel (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin at 0:12
5. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Direct Energie at 0:13
6. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors at 0:14
7. Geraint Thomas (GB) Sky at 0:15
8. Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R-La Mondiale
9. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates at 0:16
10. John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo
11. Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
12. Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors
13. André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
14. Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
15. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
16. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors
17. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana
18. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
19. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC
20. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb
21. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar
22. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
23. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
24. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
25. Warren Barguil (Fra) Fortuneo-Samsic.


Related Stories