PezCycling News - What's Cool In Road Cycling : Vuelta’17 St10: Trentin Doubles Up!

Race News
Vuelta’17 St10: Trentin Doubles Up!
Stage Report: After the first Vuelta a España rest day there were some sore legs in the peloton on stage 10 from Caravaca Año Jubilar 2017 to El Pozo Alimentación and the rain didn't help. But that didn't stop the break of the day launching the winning move for Matteo Trentin to take his second stage victory in the 2017 Vuelta.

Matteo Trentin was part of the 20 rider 'break of the day' that escaped in the wet stage in Murcia. Then on the Cat 1 climb of the Collado Bermejo, four men split off with Trentin there hunting for his second stage win after his stage 4 victory. Trentin rode tempo on the climb and by the summit he Italian and Movistar's JJ Rojas were clear for the 20 kilometer descent to the finish. Rojas led out, but Trentin had the better sprint at the finish.

In the peloton; Nicolas Roche (BMC) attacked to pull level on the overall time with Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott) in second place, both are now 36 seconds behind Chris Froome who held the leaders red jersey.

The 164.8 kilometers course was mainly downhill before the 56.4 kilometer circuit out and back to finish in front of the El Pozo meat factory in Alhama de Murcia. The Cat 3 Alto del Morrón del Totana started after 125 kilometers and was followed by the Cat 1 Collado Bermejo, summiting at 21.8 kilometers to go. The final 20K was a tricky, twisting, narrow descent back to the finish, not made any easier with the earlier heavy rain.

A wet start for eventual winner Matteo Trentin

Even with the wet conditions the stage started fast with the peloton covering 52 kilometers in the first two hours with many escapes trying and failing. With 75km to go the peloton split into three groups with the important break of twenty up front. The group included: Niki Terpstra and Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors), Alessandro De Marchi (BMC), Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo), José Joaquín Rojas and Marc Soler (Movistar), Nico Denz and Alexandre Geniez (AG2R-La Mondiale), Michael Mørkøv (Katusha-Alpecin), Bert-Jan Lindeman and Juanjo Lobato (LottoNL-Jumbo), Luis León Sánchez (Astana), Valerio Agnoli and Domen Novak (Bahrain-Merida), Arnaud Courteille (FDJ), Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data), Rafael Reis and Diego Rubio (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA).

The peloton split in the rain

With the break gone the back groups sat up and were happy to allow the front runners build up a 5 minute lead. The sky team took control of the peloton, but until the final climb they were joking in the pack.

Sky were happy to see the break go

Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data) made the pace on the Alto del Morrón de Totana and dropped the others to cross the summit with 25 seconds in hand on Matteo Trentin, Bert-Jan Lindeman, and Rafael Reis. They soon hit the steeper Collado Bermejo as JJ Rojas, Diego Roson, and Niki Terpstra took up the chase of Van Rensburg. When Van Rensburg was caught; Terpstra was replaced by Trentin and the four at the front pushed on. The leaders had over 20 seconds on a group of local rider Luis Leon Sanchez with Agnoli, Courteille, Soler, Geniez, and De Marchi.

Trentin kept the pace up on the climb

Bahrain-Merida put his riders on the front of the peloton to keep the pace high for an attack by Nibali on the descent. The Italian pulled a few seconds lead, but was caught with 15 kilometers to go by a group of around 15 riders.

Jose Joaquin Rojas missed out on a local win

At the front Rojas knew the descent well and led Trentin and Roson as Van Rensburg was in trouble trying to follow. By the time the road flattened for the finalé to the line, Trentin and Rojas had a lead of 20 seconds on Roson and Van Rensburg, The Spaniard would need all he had to beat the Italian in a sprint, but he led out and was unsurprisingly beaten by race points leader for his second stage win.

Vuelta 2017 stage win No.2 for Matteo Trentin

BMC's Nico Roche pushed on after Nibali had been caught and took back enough time to pull level on time with Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott). Chris Froome (Sky) held his 36 second lead on Chaves and now Roche.

Another day over for race leader Froome

When asked on Spanish TV about his Quick-Step Floors team winning five stages in the Giro and Tour, but only four at the Vuelta a España, he answered: "Now we have to get five here!"

Ultimo kilómetro / Last kilometer - Étape 10... por la_vuelta

Keep it PEZ for everything Vuelta.

Vuelta a España Stage 10 Result:
1. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors in 3:34:56
2. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa) Movistar at 0:01
3. Jaime Roson Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 0:19
4. Jacques Janse van Rensburg (RSA) Dimension Data at 0:21
5. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 0:56
6. Marc Soler Gimenez (Spa) Movistar at 0:59
7. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Astana at 2:22
8. Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) BMC
9. Arnaud Courteille (Fra) FDJ at 2:40
10. Rafael Reis (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 3:05
11. Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 3:59
12. Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC at 4:03
13. Jack Haig (Aus) Orica-Scott at 4:32
14. Julien Bernard (Fra) Trek-Segafredo
15. Aldemar Reyes (Col) Manzana Postobon
16. Gianni Moscon (Ita) Sky
17. Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Sky
18. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky
19. Adam Yates (GB) Orica-Scott
20. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors
21. Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo
22. David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors
23. Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
24. Christopher Froome (GB) Sky
25. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 10:
1. Christopher Froome (GB) Sky in 40:12:44
2. Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica-Scott at 0:36
3. Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 1:17
5. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC at 1:27
6. David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors at 1:30
7. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana at 1:33
8. Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac at 1:52
9. Adam Yates (GB) Orica-Scott at 1:55
10. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 2:15
11. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb at 2:31
12. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 3:04
13. Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo at 3:32
14. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 3:45
15. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 4:09
16. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates at 4:42
17. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 4:46
18. Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Dimension Data at 5:54
19. Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Sky at 7:24
20. Jaime Roson Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 8:08
21. Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 8:27
22. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar at 8:43
23. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates at 10:49
24. Luis León Sánchez (Spa) Astana at 13:21
25. Jack Haig (Aus) Orica-Scott at 13:56.


Pez Comments

Related Stories