PezCycling News - What's Cool In Road Cycling : Vuelta’17 St.1: BMC Tops in Nîmes!

Race News
Vuelta’17 St.1: BMC Tops in Nîmes!
Photo Report: Team BMC played their strong card winning the opening stage team time trial in Nimes as the 2017 Vuelta a Espana rolls out in France. Rohan Denis will wear the first leader's red jersey.

The ancient Roman colosseum made a perfect venue to host the opening stage team time trial. 

BMC's Rohan Denis: "It was a hard course. It wasn't just a straightforward time trial. It was technical at the start, and we had to tactically figure out if it was better to finish at the top of the hill with nine riders or if we drop a few guys. The course tested everything: strength, technique, and speed. You had to be the best in every aspect, and we showed our true power today."

Words courtesy of

BMC Racing Team made the most of the opening time-trial of the 72nd La Vuelta, Saturday at Nîmes: stage victory for the American team and first red jersey for Rohan Dennis. With a time of 15'58” over 13.7km, BMC dominated Quick-Step Floors and Team Sunweb with a margin of six seconds. Chris Froome and Team Sky took the fourth place and already won time over most of their rivals for the general classification. BMC already won the ITT in 2015. Dennis is the first Australian rider to wear the red jersey since Michael Matthews kept it for three days in 2014.

Alberto Contador is riding his last race, and as reported in yesterday's Roadside Preview, he "...will give the maximum in this Vuelta, as I have always done", he says. "My intention is to remain professional until the very last day of my career. Of course, I would also like to enjoy it, but I'm coming here with the ambition of winning the race."

Former Vuelta, Tour, and Giro Champ Vincenzo Nibali's Bahrain-Merida squad managed 9th place at 31 seconds - by no means out of it.

198 riders started the 72nd edition of La Vuelta, divided in 22 teams, the first on the road being Manzana-Postobon on the occasion of the inaugural team time trial in the streets of Nîmes. The course showcased the historical monuments of the French city. Second in action, Lotto-Soudal set the first time of reference in 16.22. Bora-Hansgrohe bettered the Belgian team. The young guns of Team Sunweb impressed with the time of 16.04 (av.: 51.2km/h) while half of the teams had crossed the finishing line.

Caja-Rural's Nick Schultz (and PEZ interviewee) was one of many riding the Vuelta for the first time the young Aussie was keen to get started ‘I’m definitely nervous but also excited to get started. My preparation has gone pretty well and I’m coming out of the races I did in the Basque Country as well as the Vuelta Burgos in pretty good condition.’

Warren Barguil's Team Sunweb looked good taking third spot - just 6 seconds behind the winners.

It was a matter of hundredths of a second for Quick-Step Floors to take the lead ahead of the Dutch team, also with a time of 16.04. But BMC Racing Team managed to build a substantial difference, with a time of 15.58 (av.: 51.5km/h). With the American team being the only one to cover the course under 16 minutes, Rohan Dennis grabbed the first red jersey of La Vuelta 2017.


It's no secret Chris Froome is here to win - and at just 9 seconds odd the pace, he and the Sky boys are well positioned for the real racing ahead.

No team was able to come close to BMC as the last ones tackled the very technical course. But Team Sky managed to set the fourth best time (16.07) and put Chris Froome ahead of most of his rivals for the general classification. Esteban Chaves and the Yates brothers (Orica-Scott) lost 8 seconds over Froome, Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) 22 seconds, Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafred) 26, and Fabio Aru (Astana) 32.

Vuelta a España Stage 1 Result:
1. BMC in 15:58
2. Quick-Step Floors at 0:06
3. Sunweb
4. Sky at 0:09
5. Orica-Scott at 0:17
6. Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:21
7. Lotto-Soudal at 0:24
8. Movistar
9. Bahrain-Merida at 0:31
10. Katusha-Alpecin at 0:33
11. Trek-Segafredo at 0:35
12. FDJ at 0:38
13. Aqua Blue Sport
14. Dimension Data at 0:39
15. LottoNl-Jumbo at 0:40
16. Astana at 0:41
17. Cannondale-Drapac at 0:46
18. AG2R-La Mondiale
19. UAE Team Emirates at 0:49
20. Manzana Postobon at 0:53
21. Caja Rural-Seguros RGA at 0:56
22. Cofidis at 0:57.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 1:
1. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC in 15:58
2. Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC
3. Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC
4. Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) BMC
5. Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC
6. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC
7. Yves Lampaert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors at 0:06
8. David de la Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors
9. Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors
10. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors
11. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
12. Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Sunweb
13. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb
14. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb
15. Lennard Kämna (Ger) Sunweb
16. Warren Barguil (Fra) Sunweb
17. Salvatore Puccio (Ita) Sky at 0:09
18. Christopher Froome (GB) Sky
19. Gianni Moscon (Ita) Sky
20. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky
21. Ian Stannard (GBr) Sky
22. Chad Haga (USA) Sunweb 0:00:10
23. Enric Mas (Spa) Quick-Step Floors at 0:11
24. Adam Yates (GB) Orica-Scott at 0:17
25. Magnus Cort (Den) Orica-Scott.





Pez Comments

Related Stories