PezCycling News - What's Cool In Road Cycling : California’11 St.5: Sagan Fastest In Paso Robles

Race News
California’11 St.5: Sagan Fastest In Paso Robles
Race Report: Liquigas-Cannondale's Slovakian sensation, Peter Sagan, stormed to the win in Paso Robles on Thursday, but he was pushed hard in a tight sprint with two other stellar young fastmen. Darrell Parks takes a look back at the day that was in pictures.

Photography by Darrell Parks - -

The day's break of eleven: Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank), Martin Velits (HTC-Highroad), Jeffry Louder (BMC Racing Team), Stefan Denifl (Leopard Trek), Bradley White (UnitedHealthcare), Oscar Freire (Rabobank), Chris Froome (Sky), Dan Martin (Garmin-Cervelo), Chris Baldwin (Bissell), Pat McCarty (Spidertech), and Jesse Anthony (Kelly Benefits)

Behind, the going was anything but easy. The lumpy parcours made for a tough day.

Pat McCarty and Jesse Anthony battled hard for KOM points over the three climbs of the day. By stage's end, McCarty took top points in two out of the three climbs, and barring something crazy, he should be able to defend the KOM jersey all the way home.

RadioShack controlled the field for the early going, but once the sprinter teams smelled bunch finish, they took over...and swallowed up the final break member and extremely fast finisher, Oscar Freire.

Wine Country!

Peter Sagan proved fastest in Paso Robles after 217 tough kilometers. He just edged out Ben Swift (Sky) and Leigh Howard (HTC-Highroad).

Heading to the podium.

Sagan gets his kisses.

A triumphant Chris Horner collects another golden jersey.

Three more stages remain: the time trial in Solvang on Friday, the mountaintop finish on Mt. Baldy on Saturday, and the tough finishing circuit around Thousand Oaks on Sunday.

1 Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale 5:16:03
2 Leigh Howard (Aus) HTC-Highroad
3 Ben Swift (GBr) Sky Procycling
4 Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank Cycling Team
5 Alexander Candelario (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies - OptumHealth
6 Jonas Aaen Jцrgensen (Den) Saxo Bank Sungard
7 Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
8 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team
9 Frank Kevin Pipp (USA) Bissell Cycling
10 Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team NetApp
11 Christopher Horner (USA) Team RadioShack

General Classification
1 Christopher Horner (USA) Team RadioShack 16:45:35
2 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team RadioShack 0:01:15
3 Thomas Danielson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:22
4 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:29
5 Rory Sutherland (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:01:30
6 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek
7 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:36
8 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard Trek 0:01:50
9 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:02:00
10 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) HTC-Highroad 0:02:05
11 Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:02:34
12 Andrew Talansky (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:02:37


Pez Comments

Related Stories