PezCycling News - What's Cool In Pro Cycling : USPRO’09 Time Trial: A Tale Of Three Z’s

Now On Pez
Tech N Spec
Lecco - Italy - wielrennen - cycling - radsport - cyclisme - Thomas†Voeckler (Europcar) - Madonna del Ghisallo   pictured during the Giro di Lombardia 2013  - photo LB/RB/Cor Vos © 2013
Pez Videos
Readers' Rigs
Race News
USPRO’09 Time Trial: A Tale Of Three Z’s
I don’t know if any country on the planet can lay claim to an entirely Z’d out podium. This past Saturday in Greenville, South Carolina, the Z’s took over. David Zabriskie swept to his fourth consecutive US TT Championship. He was followed by Tom Zirbel and Scott Zwizanski.

Heading into the USPRO Time Trial Championships in Greenville, the favorite didn’t appear to be Zabriskie, even though he had won the past three additions – a perfect record since the Championships had moved to Greenville. The seemingly eternal runner-up, Tom Zirbel, looked to be the man for the day. Zirbel was (and still is) leading the year-long NRC standings and had just completed a great ride at the Tour of Utah, which included the big time trial victory. He notably distanced Zabriskie in the TT there.

Tom Zirbel came in the hot favorite, but fell victim to a raging Zabriskie.

Of course, Utah isn’t USPRO, so they came over here and waged war. In short, Zabriskie crushed all comers. Last year, the duel between Zabriskie and Zirbel was a nail-biter all the way to the line, but this time around, Zabriskie smashed all hope with a blistering first lap, which saw him close to half a minute ahead only a third of the way through the race. Zabriskie continued to nourish his lead, and it grew all the way to the line. In the end, he put 44 seconds into Zirbel, and left the rest of the field looking downright slow.

There were doubts as to whether Zabriskie could make it 4 for 4 before he started…it didn’t take long for him to dispel those notions.

Impressive third place finisher, Kelly Benefit Strategies’ Scott Zwizanski was a full 1:41 off of Zabriskie’s pace. 4th place, also from Kelly and the first non-Z finisher, Reid Mumford was a large chunk even further down the road at 2:52 in arrears. There was no getting around it: Zabriskie put on a show of time trial dominance.

Scott Zwizanski put in a stellar ride to round out the podium.

Zabriskie put at least three minutes into all of the riders save for the top 5, and 4th and 5th were at 2:52.

Zirbel couldn’t match the blistering pace of Zabriskie, but it probably isn’t so bad – we all found out today that he’s making the big jump to Garmin-Slipstream for 2010. Congratulations, Tom!

Floyd Landis rode some solid early splits, but finished well back. I’m not sure, but I think something untoward must have happened.

The USPRO TT isn’t all about the big guns blazing off round after round of immense wattage – it’s a time for some of the lesser known riders to get out there and give it a go against some of the world’s best. Young rider, Chris Monteleone, spent most of the season racing for the US National Team in Europe, but returned for the final races of the year to race with the small all-American Continental outfit, Kenda-Spinergy.

Speaking of Kenda-Spinergy, Matt Winstead put together a great ride on his Masi to take 11th on the day.

Zabriskie in 1st, Zirbel 2nd, Zwizanski 3rd.

Yes, there must be spraying, much spraying.

Another year in the Stars and Stripes for Zabriskie.

1 David Zabriskie (USA) Garmin-Slipstream 0:39:37
2 Tom Zirbel (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling 0:00:44
3 Scott Zwizanski (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:01:41
4 Reid Mumford (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:02:52
5 Bernard Vanulden (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team
6 Mike Friedman (USA) Garmin-Slipstream 0:03:00
7 Phil Zajicek (USA) Fly V Australia 0:03:01
8 Jonathan Chodroff (USA) OUCH Presented By Maxxis 0:03:07
9 Benjamin Jacques-Maynes (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling 0:03:30
10 Mike Creed (USA) Team Type 1 0:03:34
11 Matt Winstead (USA) Kenda Pro Cycling 0:04:04
12 Paul Mach (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling 0:04:06
13 Roman Kilun (USA) OUCH Presented By Maxxis 0:04:07
14 Christopher Baldwin (USA) OUCH Presented By Maxxis 0:04:19
15 Bobby Sweeting (USA) Land Rover-Orbea 0:04:23
16 Omer Kem (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling 0:04:47
17 Matthew Crane (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team 0:05:13
18 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team 0:05:15
19 Kiel Reijnen (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team 0:06:03
20 Chris Montelone (USA) US National Development Team 0:06:24
21 Floyd Landis (USA) OUCH Presented By Maxxis 0:06:53
22 Jonathan Hamblen (USA) DLP Racing 0:07:20
23 Wade Wolfenbarger (USA) Cinelli-Down Under 0:09:26

Thanks to PEZ Photographer, Darrell Parks, for his wonderful images. Take a look at his vast collection over at his website:

Also, a big thank you to James Thomas for his shots. Take a gander at for more!


Related Stories