PezCycling News - What's Cool In Pro Cycling : Lotto Belisol: Brabantse Pijl

Now On Pez
Daily Distractions!
Tech N Spec
Marcel Kittel, corridore dell'Etixx Quick-Step, questa mattina all'aeroporto di Lamezia Terme dopo il rientro dall'Olanda dove si sono svolte le prime tre tappe del Giro d'Italia 2016, 9 maggio 2016. ANSA / MATTEO BAZZI
Pra Loup - France - wielrennen - cycling - radsport - cyclisme - Contador Velasco Alberto (Team Tinkoff Saxo) pictured during le Tour de France 2015 - stage 17 - from Digne-les-Bains to Pra Loup on wednesday 22-07-2015 - 161 KM - photo Dion Kerckhoffs/Sabine Jacob/Marketa Navratilova/Cor Vos © 2015
Pez Videos
<iframe id="ytplayer" type="text/html" width="280" height="150" src="" frameborder="0"></iframe>
Readers' Rigs
London - England - wielrennen - cycling - radsport - cyclisme - Nicole Cooke - Elizabeth Armistedt - Lucy Martin and Emma Pooley (GBR) pictured during road race elite women Olympic Games 2012 - foto Cor Vos ©2012 *** local caption *** 00906546
Houthalen - Helchteren - Belgium - wielrennen - cycling - radsport - cyclisme - Kopecky Lotte (Belgium / Lotto Soudal Ladies) - Kitchen Lauren (Australia / Hitec Products) Druyts Kelly (Belgium / Topsport Vlaanderen - Etixx) Tuslaite Daiva (Lithuania / INPA Bianchi) pictured during Trofee Maarten Wijnants in Houthalen Helchteren - photo Anton Vos/Cor Vos © 2016
Arnhem - Netherlands - wielrennen - cycling - radsport - cyclisme - The Devol and Marcel Kittel (Germany / Team Etixx - Quick Step) pictured during stage 3 of th 99th Giro d'Italia 2016 from Nijmegen to Arnhem in the
Lotto Belisol: Brabantse Pijl
The cobblestone classics are over. Now it’s up to the climbers in the peloton. With the Brabantse Pijl on Wednesday the second part of the cycling spring starts. The Brabantse Pijl starts in Leuven and finishes in Overijse after 203 kilometers. First the riders get 133 kilometers with eleven hills. The most known hills of that part are no doubt the Bruine Put and Alsemberg.

When the riders pass the finish in Overijse for the first time, three laps of just over 24 kilometers are yet to be covered. In those local laps they have to ride over five more hills, among other the IJskelderlaan and Hagaard. The last climb before the finish, the Schavei, is 700 meters long and has an average gradient of 5.6%.

Last year Peter Sagan won, he’s not participating now. Philippe Gilbert will start, the number two of 2013. Also Thomas Voeckler, Simon Gerrans and Wout Poels belong to the top favourites.

No race yet for De Clercq
The Lotto Belisol squad is led by Tony Gallopin and Jurgen Van den Broeck. Bart De Clercq and Jelle Vanendert won’t ride on Wednesday yet. They prepare for the upcoming races. Tim Wellens is sick and won’t start.

Bart Leysen, sports director: “When will I be satisfied? We have a team that’s good uphill. Considering the qualities of our men we aim for a podium place. Some guys have just returned for the Vuelta al País Vasco. The question is if they will have recovered enough. Tony Gallopin is the one who ought to be the most fresh physically. But as I said, we have other strong riders in the team.”

We have to race offensively
“I’m convinced we have to race offensively. Only that way we can strive for a good result. Men like Ligthart or Van der Sande can early open up the real race. When someone of us is part of the break Gallopin and Van den Broeck can keep quiet in the peloton and the team then doesn’t have any pressure.”

“The past has shown the decision usually is made in the local laps. I expect that won’t be different this year. It will be an elimination race again in which every climb at the end will hurt. That’s why it’s important we have a guy in front.”

Selection Lotto Belisol: Sander Armée, Kris Boeckmans, Sean De Bie, Tony Gallopin, Pim Ligthart, Jurgen Van den Broeck, Tosh Van der Sande, Dennis Vanendert

Sports director: Bart Leysen


Pez Comments

Related Stories