PezCycling News - What's Cool In Road Cycling : BMC Racing Team Will Eye Stages At Dauphiné

BMC Racing Team Will Eye Stages At Dauphiné
The BMC Racing Team heads to the Critérium du Dauphiné with its focus on stage wins, Assistant Director Yvon Ledanois said.

Hushovd Past Stage Winner, Race Leader
Absent a contender for the overall classification, Ledanois said the BMC Racing Team will look for opportunities that suit the roster during the eight-stage race that begins Sunday in Champéry, Switzerland. "It's a bit different because we don't have a leader for the GC (general classification)," Ledanois said. "But I think we have many quality riders who can contend for stages." Included among them is past world road champion Thor Hushovd, who has four career stage wins and a stint in the Dauphine leader's jersey in 2008. Hushovd is fresh off helping teammate Tejay van Garderen win the Amgen Tour of California while garnering four top 10 finishes himself, including third on Stage 5. "I got a better feeling in California and my body was reacting over the race so I was pleased with my improving form day-by-day," Hushovd said. "I will have to look into the details of how the finishes are, but I think there are some nice opportunities for me. They all look like hard finishes, with some heavy climbs, but I think I'm climbing better, so there are some possibilities."

Download the official BMC Racing Team race sheet (PDF with roster, bios, statistics, etc.):

BMC Racing Team Critérium du Dauphiné Roster (June 2-9):
Brent Bookwalter (USA), Yannick Eijssen (BEL), Thor Hushovd (NOR), Martin Kohler (SUI), Dominik Nerz (GER), Manuel Quinziato (ITA), Ivan Santaromita (ITA), Larry Warbasse (USA).

Sport Directors:
Yvon Ledanois (FRA)
Jackson Stewart (USA)

Dario Spinelli (ITA)

Performance Team:
Bobby Julich (USA)
Allan Peiper (AUS)

Press Officer:
Sean Weide (USA)

Bus Driver: Filip Sercu (BEL). Chef: Jean Patrick Simonneau (FRA). Mechanics: Peter De Bleecker (BEL), Aaron Fairley (USA), Christian Moore (AUS), Thierry Viaene (FRA). Soigneurs: David Bombeke (BEL), Gunther Landrie (BEL), Marc Paeme (BEL), Freddy Viaene (BEL).


Pez Comments

Related Stories