PezCycling News - What's Cool In Road Cycling : BMC Racing Team Seeks Stage Wins In Utah

BMC Racing Team Seeks Stage Wins In Utah
Buoyed by recent success at the Tour de Pologne, the BMC Racing Team will take the same stage-hunting approach at the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah, Assistant Director Jackson Stewart said.

Altitude A Concern
Billed as "America's toughest stage race," the 943-kilometer race includes more than 13,106 meters of climbing in six days and no individual or team time trial. "We're going to take a day-by-day approach, but for sure, we will race aggressively," Stewart said. "Being an American team, races in the United States are always important for us and I think the seven guys we have here all have the potential to do well." Greg Van Avermaet, recent winner of two stages and the overall at the Tour de Wallonie, will be making his first start in Utah. He is joined by Swiss road champion Michael Schär, who was runner-up here on Stage 2 a year ago, and Larry Warbasse, who is starting the race for the third time. The rest of the BMC Racing Team's roster – Steve Cummings, Yannick Eijssen and stagiaires Jakub Novak and Julien Taramarcaz – are first-time participants. Cummings, a stage winner last year at the Vuelta a España and the Tour of Beijing, said he has been training hard since finishing the Giro d'Italia. "I think the altitude is going to make it hard for me to go for the general classification," he said. "But it's certainly possible to go for a stage. It's all going to depend on how I react to the altitude."

Download the official race sheet (PDF with roster, bios, statistics, etc.):

BMC Racing Team Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah roster (Aug. 6-11):
Steve Cummings (GBR), Yannick Eijssen (BEL), Jakub Novak (CZE), Michael Schär (SUI), Julien Taramarcaz (SUI), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL), Larry Warbasse (USA).

President/General Manager:
Jim Ochowicz (USA)

Sport Director:
Jackson Stewart (USA)

Chief Medical Officer:
Dr. Max Testa (ITA)

Press Officer:
Sean Weide (USA)

Bus Driver: Andrzej Bek (POL). Mechanics: Aaron Fairley (USA), Ian Sherburne (USA). Soigneurs: Chris De Vos (BEL), Jeremiah Ranegar (USA), Trudi Rebsamen (USA).


Pez Comments

Related Stories