PezCycling News - What's Cool In Pro Cycling : Day 4: Tour of America’s Dairyland

Now On Pez
Tech N Spec
Pez Videos
Readers' Rigs
Now On Pez
Day 4: Tour of America’s Dairyland
toad13st04-wells650 The fourth and final USA Cycling National Criterium Calendar (NCC) date during the Tour of America’s Dairyland presented by Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board took place on Sunday in Waukesha, home of guitar legend Les Paul, so it was appropriate that riveting versions of the National Anthem were performed by a saxophonist and keyboardist.

Tour of America’s Dairyland pb Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board
Waukesha Carl Zach Cycling Classic pb Couri Insurance
Sunday, June 23, 2013 (Day 4 of 11 dates) – USA Cycling NCC Race


The day was hot; prime money a lot…as Pro Men and Pro Women each saw $1,000 doled out to their respective fields during the Carl Zach Cycling Classic presented by Couri Insurance.

After a crash in the first lap, the Pro Women went on to put on an incredible race before another energetic ToAD crowd at the boards. ISCorp and Pepper Palace each snatched primes early on, and with 13 to go, Allison Arensman (Pepper Palace) launched a huge solo effort to grab another $100 prime, with Colavita driving off the front. Arensman was caught with caught with 9 remaining after another $100 prime was launched and snatched by Kelly Fischer Goodwin (Fearless Femme).

Seven to go, it was Christa Ghent’s (Exergy TWENTY16) turn at the money and at the front but with three remaining, a $500 cash prime was announced, which sent Diana Penuela (Specialized Columbia) to the bank and the field into pedal-to-the-metal sprint for the final lap. Chaos on the back, four across the road, dasherboards thundering…it was Kimberely Wells (Fearless Femme) on the outside for the win.

Kimberely Wells (Fearless Femme) rocks the winner’s podium.

Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom) and Sam Schneider (Team TIBCO) rounded out the day’s podium, with Van Gilder staying in the pink Becker Law Overall Jersey. Skylar Schneider (Team TIBCO) winner of the Carl Zach Cycling Classic Kiddie Klassic seven years ago stays in the green Oarsman Capital Cat 2 Amateur jersey.

With 114 starters at the line, Pro Men action started early with a $100 prime 10 minutes in that sent Dion Smith (Predator) chasing for the cash and pole position. With German Marcel Kalz (Rudy Project) tag-teaming Smith in the break, the United Healthcare train was already forming at the front of the field with 28 to go, chipping away at the gap, up to 36 seconds at one point, lap after lap.

With six to go, Sergio Hernandez (Predator) made the break a 3-man effort but with four remaining and the field all together, a $500 cash prime was tossed out. David Guttenplan (AG Bicycles), the only rider to take a podium step from UHC during ToAD, shot out of a cannon to take the green. But mayhem ensued one with lap to go, and with spectators climbing the boards, it was a UHC three-peat sweep.


Jake Keough, Luke Keough, and Hilton Clarke took first, second and third, respectively, with Clarke staying in the Overall yellow leaders jersey. The race for the Overall omnium will shift as UHC leaves town, paving the way for some fresh faces on the podium beginning Monday at the Sheboygan Criterium.

Women Pro/1/2 NCC Results (Becker Law Overall Omnium)
Waukesha Carl Zach Cycling Classic
presented by Couri Insurance
Sunday, June 23 (ToAD Day 4 of 11)
Place Bib # Name Team
1 58 Kimberley Wells Fearless Femme p/b Pure Energy Cycling
2 1 Laura Van Gilder Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers
3 55 Samantha Schneider Team TIBCO/To the Top
4 7 Jennifer Purcell Colavita-Fine Cooking
5 11 Cari Higgins Exergy TWENTY16
6 14 Theresa Cliff-Ryan Fearless Femme p/b Pure Energy Cycling
7 6 Tina Pic Colavita-Fine Cooking
8 44 Skylar Schneider Team TIBCO II
9 2 Carrie Cash Wootten Pepper Palace Pro Cycling
10 68 E “Scotti” Wilborne Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers
11 26 Tamina Oliver KS Energy Services / Team Wisconsin
12 59 Christy Keely Pepper Palace Pro Cycling
13 79 Diana Penuela Specialized Columbia
14 4 Katherine Shields Pain Pathways
15 47 Jeannie Kuhajek Vanderkitten
16 93 Anna Sanders FCS|Zngine p/b Mr. Restore
17 37 Amy Phillips Scenic City Velo/Hub Endurance Women’s Cycling Team
18 75 Holly Mathews ISCorp Cycling Team
19 52 Meredith Miller Team TIBCO/To the Top
20 64 Gwen Inglis Team Kenda
21 17 Justine Boddy SKINourishment p/b Paceline Projects
22 27 Amanda Seigle Metromint Cycling
23 77 Mia Loquai ISCorp Cycling Team
24 85 Ash Duban Comanche Racing
25 41 Kristen Meshberg Spidermonkey
26 61 Lauren Komanski NOW and Novartis for MS
27 39 holly breck SC VELO/InCycle
28 87 Madeleine Pape ISCorp Cycling Team
29 63 Christa Ghent Exergy TWENTY12
30 15 Kelly Fisher-Goodwin Fearless Femme p/b Pure Energy Cycling
31 49 Rushlee Buchanan (unattached)
32 80 Ana Cristina Sanabria Specialized Colombia
33 60 Allison Arensman Pepper Palace Pro Cycling
34 82 Elizabeth Lauer Team Kenda
35 76 Hayley Giddens ISCorp p/b Intellgentsia Coffee
36 54 Jenny Rios (unattached)
37 35 Liz Gerrity Rose Bandits
38 89 Angie Sandoria (unattached)
39 74 Shannon Bhatia TIBCO II
40 13 Lindsey Durst FCS|Zngine p/b Mr. Restore
41 91 Anne Gerard Union Bay Cycling/
42 43 Corrie Osborne Borah Development
43 22 Amber Brown DNA Cycling p/b Plan7
44 18 Heather Ross Fremont Bank Cycling Team
45 95 Claudia Patricia Buitrago Specialized Colombia
46 66 Sarah Lukas Race Gear Grinder
47 24 Cady Chintis Les Petites Victoires
48 73 Nicole Mertz ISCorp p/b Intellgentsia Coffee
49 30 Kelli Richter PSIMET Racing
50 81 Amber Vredenburg Team Kenda p/b RACC
51 28 Roberta Smith Naked Women’s Racing p/b TriBella
52 88 Diana Cardina Palacios (unattached)

75 riders started


Related Stories